

MINUTES OF A SPECIAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE SHREE PRETORIA HINDU SEVA SAMAJ

Held at : The Auditorium, Seva Samaj

Date : 30 July 2009

1. WELCOME AND PRAYER

The meeting commenced at 20:20 with a welcome, prayer and a minute silence for all those who have passed on.

Kirtibhai Devjee addressed the community in respect of clause 10(d) of the Constitution requiring 21 days' notice to be given for an Annual General Meeting and requested that the status of this meeting be changed from an AGM to a Special General Meeting in terms of clause 8 of the Constitution.

Prakashbhai Hira stated that it was agreed between the Executives and the Trustees on 23 July 2009 to call this meeting an Annual General Meeting and that Kirtibhai Devjee was party to such a meeting and stated further that members of the public have come here today expecting an Annual General Meeting and the meeting can not now be called a Special General Meeting.

Rameshbhai Chhagan was of the view that those present waive the notice required in terms of clause (d) of the Constitution. Maganbhai Dheda stated that this meeting, if it is to be called an Annual General Meeting is unconstitutional as he did not get written notice.

Prakashbahi Hira proposed that we proceed with the meeting

ACTION

as outlined which was seconded by Rameshbhai Chhagan. Anilbhai Kanjee wanted the agenda shortened. Trusharbhai Kalan indicated that the meeting should proceed so that the business for which the meeting has been called up can be dealt with.

Anilbhai Soma wanted to know what the situation is with the missing funds and suggested that the existing Executive still be held responsible and called for a vote of no-confidence and for a new committee to be elected.

Trusharbhai Kalan stated that the Management and Executive are aware of the concerns of the community and met with the Trustees on 1 July 2009 and on 5 July 2009 met with the Advisory Board to discuss the way forward but in the meantime a lawyer's letter was received and it was therefore decided that the Annual General Meeting should then be held today.

Muganbhai Dheda wanted copies of reports.

Trusharbhai Kalan stated that the Constitution does not state that copies must be given out at the meeting and that it is impossible to satisfy each and every individual. Muganbhai Dheda insisted that it was customary to make copies available at an Annual General Meeting.

It was then decided that the meeting proceed and Trusharbhai Kalan read out the amended agenda.

2. **PREVIOUS MINUTES**

- 2.1 The previous minutes were ready out by Shirishbhai Kalian.
- 2.2 Sanjaybhai Govind wanted to know what the qualification on the Auditors' report meant.
- 2.3 Pravinbhai Daya said that he found it strange that the 2005 financials were tabled in 2007 and that he is of the view that something is not kosher.

- 2.4 Anilbhai Soma wanted to know what happened to the 2006 to 2008 balance sheets and questioned why Deloitte & Touche were the auditors as Trusharbhai Kalan was a partner at this firm.
- 2.5 Trusharbhai Kalan stated that the appointment of Deloitte & Touche as auditors is in order, provided that the audit partner involved in the Samaj does not perform the audit and that he has declared his interest in the Samaj and stated that he will address the outstanding issues in his report.
- 2.6 Anilbhai Soma wanted to know what was done about the bank confirmation letters.
- 2.7 Trusharbhai Kalan stated that he personally and continuously tried to get hold of ABSA Bank to get confirmation and that his efforts were frustrated.
- 2.8 Harshad Kesav stated that the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting appointed PricewaterhouseCoopers and wanted to know if they had conducted any audit.
- 2.9 Trusharbhai Kalan stated that this will be addressed in his President's report.
- 2.10 Naribhai Patel proposed the following:-
- 2.10.1 That a vote of no-confidence be passed:
- 2.10.2 That all documents be made available:
- 2.10.3 That elections be held.

This was seconded by Anilbhai Soma.

2.11 A vote of no-confidence was therefore passed in the present Executive by a majority of the community members present by a show of hands.

3. **INTERIM COMMITTEE**

3.1 Prof Punkajbhai Joshi was elected as the convenor for the purposes of electing an interim committee and this was proposed by Tapidasbhai C Bhana and seconded by Mansukhbhai Chhiba with Trusharbhai Kalan assisting.

- 3.2 Prof Punkajbhai Joshi then addressed the members present and Trusharbhai Kalan stated that the old committee will cooperate with any new interim committee appointed.
- 3.3 Elections were thereafter held for the interim committee as follows:-

3.3.1 **President**

Vineetbhai Rama proposed that Prakashbhai Hira be nominated for President. This was seconded by Bharatbhai Kooverjee.

- 3.3.1.1 Bharatbhai Kooverjee proposed that Rameshbhai Chhagan be nominated for President. This was seconded by Kirtibhai Devjee.
- 3.3.1.2 Madhu Kanjee proposed that Anilbhai Soma be nominated as President. This was seconded by Baboo Gagiee.
- 3.3.1.3 Rameshbhai Chhagan and Anilbhai Soma declined the nomination and therefore Prakashbhai Hira was elected as the President.

3.3.2 **Secretary**:

Vinaybhai Chagan proposed that Rameshbhai Chhagan be nominated for Secretary. This was seconded by Baboobhai Gokal.

- 3.3.2.1 Ramanbhai Rama proposed that Shirishbhai Kalian be nominated for Secretary. This was seconded by Ashwinbhai Joshi.
- 3.3.2.2 Baboobhai Gagjee proposed Vineetbhai Rama. This was seconded by Narnitbhai Bhima.
- 3.3.2.3 Gunvantbhai Sodha proposed that Sanjaybhai Govind be the Secretary. This was seconded by Bhandishbhai Gokal.
- 3.3.2.4 Shirishbhai Kalian and Vineetbhai Rama declined the position.

3.3.3.5 Therefore, Rameshbhai Chhagan and Sanjaybhai Govind were elected as the Joint Secretaries.

3.3.3 **Treasurer**:

Narotambhai Valji proposed the name of Anilbhai Soma as Treasurer. This was seconded by Ashwinbhai Joshi.

- 3.3.3.1 Gunvantbhai Sodha proposed the name of Himalbhai Ramjee. This was seconded by Ramanbhai Rama.
- 3.3.3.2 Harshikbhai Jasvant proposed the name of Nipunbhai Jeeva as Treasurer. This was seconded by Kirtibhai Devjee.
- 3.3.3.3 Vineetbhai Rama proposed the name of Pravinbhai Dhaya.

 This was seconded by Bharatbhai Kooverjee.
- 3.3.3.4 Nipunbhai Jeeva declined the position and therefore the Joint Treasurers are Anilbhai Soma, Himalbhai Ramjee and Pravinbhai Dhaya.

3.3.4 Education Committee

Atishbhai Mistry proposed the name of Harshaben Dayal. This was seconded by Kirtibhai Devjee.

There being no other nominations for the position Harshaben Dayal was elected as head of the Education Committee.

3.3.5 **Maintenance and Repairs**

Prakashbhai Hira proposed the name of Kishorbhai Dajee Naran. This was seconded by Rameshbhai Chhagan.

There being no further nominations Kishorbhai Dajee Naran was elected as head of the Maintenance and Repairs Committee.

3.3.6 Religious Committee

Chetnabhen Kalian proposed the name of Jagdishbhai Makan. This was seconded by Jivanbhai Kalyan.

There being no further nominations Jadgishbhai Makan was

3.3.7 **Social and Cultural Committee**

Manojbhai Kalyan proposed the name of Jotibhen Joshi. This was seconded by Jivanbhai Kalyan.

There being no further nominations Jotibhen Joshi was elected as the head of the Social and Cultural Committee.

4 GENERAL

- 4.1 Trusharbhai Kalan then explain the difficulties to get the money from ABSA Bank and indicated that Shirishbhai Kalian will write to the Trustees to gain access to the records that are in possession of Nareshbhai Mistry or alternatively at his premises.
- 4.2 Prakashbhai Hira then addressed all those present at the meeting. In his address he undertook to address the issue of the misappropriation of funds and pledged that the damage the Samaj has suffered by way of its reputation and integrity would be repaired.
- 4.3 The meeting ended with a prayer at 10:45.

Shirish Kalian

Honorary Secretary